Scattered Showers

In this new world I am living I watch TV on an evening. I usually don’t sit down until late, the boxes seem to be getting smaller, but we are still finding things. Oh, and one of the TV remotes STILL hasn’t turned up. It will be somewhere safe …I  know it…

Anyway, I digress. I was watching the TV, some emergency call thing, where they don’t tell you if people have survived until the credits, when they play the sentimental music to drag it out. One of the “nearly an adults” came downstairs, grunted he was off outside for a “cig”, and went outside, a few minutes later the other “nearly an adult” came down stairs, came into the lounge, glared at me, held the glare for 10 or so seconds, and went back into the kitchen.

Now the programme I was watching was going to finish in about six or seven minutes, the first few bars of the sentimental music was starting in the back ground. I would miss what happened to the chap who had collapsed. They had his daughter on looking all teary eyed looking straight at the camera.

I knew this could go either way. I may never know what happened to the chap. I called through to the kitchen, to ask if he was ok.  He was obviously waiting for me to ask. He stormed back in the lounge.

“NO!” And proceeded with a soliloquy of King Lear standards. He had even put something on Facebook, at least everyone else  cared about him, whilst I was JUST watching TV. (I glanced back at the offending TV – they were now showing the man’s wife walking the dogs in the park…alone)

He stormed back into kitchen. At which point the other “nearly an adult” came from having his “cig”. This startled both of them, spiralling them both. The first was on video chat, they all  started shouting. My two started shouting, and squaring up to each other. I turned the TV off, just as the man’s dogs were running off across the field..

I went to the kitchen. First was shouting because Second was shouting, everyone on group chat was shouting because everyone else was shouting. First was shouting more because his friends were getting upset. Second was shouting because no one cares at all about him.  The two were each other’s faces, both trying to be stags at dawn (the second still trying to look like the wounded fawn at the same time, which is a difficult act to maintain). Whilst distracted I pressed mute on the video chat. I stood by the door. First turned round, livid, how dare I end his chat. I hadn’t , it’s muted. I told him to go upstairs and carry on his conversation …quietly. He grabbed the phone. He hated me, he REALLY HATED his brother, he hates living here. He stormed off upstairs making he sure he stamped on every step. And as final signal of defiance, slammed his door, causing a picture to fall off the wall, to which he opened his door and shouted blame at me for that too.

Meanwhile in the kitchen Second had managed to correlate everything I had done wrong,

YOU NEVER TOLD ME HE WAS OUTSIDE YOU KNOW THAT WOULD HAVE SCARED ME THERE’S NO BLACKCURRANT IN MY HEAD HURTS MY TOE HURTS I AM TIRED AND YOU HAVEN’T SAID GOODNIGHT. AND YOU HAVENT LOOKED AT FACEBOOK.

I told him I wanted to know what was happening, but it wasn’t all my fault. He insisted I gave him a hug and to say goodnight. I said I would when he was calmer and I knew what was happening. He stomped off.

I checked Facebook. He posted how sad he was feeling. How he wanted to talk to someone, he had already had several lovely replies. I had also had several messages from people telling me about his post.

I went to him. I sat on his bed. We talked. He told me why he was sad, how sometimes he doesn’t know why he is sad. He talked. I listened. I empathised. I gave suggestions and wondered and pondered about things. I got him cream for his toe, tablets for his headache and black currant from the cupboard. I said how lovely it was he had so many supportive messages on Facebook and that it showed how many people care about. We had hug and said goodnight.

I went back to the TV, I went on catch up and saw the dogs running across the field, followed by the man and his wife walking hand in hand after the dogs.

A bit later, I heard something upstairs. I muted the TV to hear both the “nearly an adults” laughing and chatting on group chats.

The weather presenter was on the TV. I put the sound back on. He said there would be scattered showers…

7 thoughts on “Scattered Showers

Add yours

  1. Isn’t it amazing that our children expect us to be mindreaders at times and just ‘know’ what is wrong. In one way it is amazing that your son was able to verbalise it albeit via FB, but on the other hand, that scares me too that FB can become an outlet for them instead of coming directly to us. Our eldest is 10 so I’m hoping to hold off on FB for a few years yet! Our youngest who is 6 is struggling with anxiety with regards to the return to school. Thankfully I have managed to ‘guess’ that is what is wrong, but he has just been unable to put that anxiety into words-only actions! Looking forward to reading more of your blog posts, Lora x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

notjustthe3ofus

A Lifestyle Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

No More Than Twenty

Two 'mo's, one LO, the dog and 9 chickens

SparkleWithUc

Leave a little sparkle wherever you go!

Thricemarked's musings

...everything that won't fit in 140 characters

take2mumsworld

Our adoption journey with Bubble and Squeak

Hannah Meadows

resources and self-care for adoptive parents

transpositionsandtoddlertantrums

Mum. Chef Widow. Nurse and everything in-between!

The Puffin Diaries

The story of a family, the highs, the lows, the ins ,the outs, the loves, the hates and so much more...just don't mention the puffin.

Herding Chickens and Other Adventures in Foster and Adoptive Care

These are the adventures of one family in foster care and adoption.

buildingafamilytogether

Building a family through adoption.

wearefamily

an adoption support community

