The Police Return

Things are difficult here at the moment. You may have read my previous post The Police. That experience left me feeling flat. I may have not contacted the police again, unless a police officer friend gave me a bit of a lecture , telling me to get help if we needed it. I wasn’t going to post this, but then felt I should.   

Things were happening last night, and we needed to call the police again. I went into autopilot. Emotionless. Maybe work mode. Maybe shutdown, maybe that’s how we are getting through. Within three or four minutes a car arrived it was really quick. Two uniformed police officers arrived at our door. They wanted facts, but they were totally different. They were calm, but understanding. They were not judgemental. I gave them less history, less background, as I thought what’s the point. They listened, and most importantly they heard. Another car arrived. Blue lights flashing. We live in a cul de sac, the lights were lighting up all the houses around us. They didn’t come to the door, they waited in the car. One of the police officers went to talk to them. The other carried on talking to me. He asked questions, he wanted to know about us. He wanted to help. The officer returned, checked the description, went back out. The second car left, the officer came back. He was reassuring. They were going to help. They had radioed another car in the area. The two officers left. 

I sat on the stairs. The silence was deafening. I don’t know how long it was, not that long I think. Blue lights arrived outside our house. They had found him. He was talking to one of the officers. He was safe.  Another car pulled up. They came to the door, they would wait in the car. One of the police officers had a form to complete, it was a long form, lots of questions, he was sorry, he hoped I was ok to answer the questions. 

The door opened. The lad was home. We finished the questions on the form. The two police officers who brought my lad home chatted with me, and then chatted with my lad. They were clear and firm with him, but compassionate. They checked I was ok. They checked we were ok. All the police  left. It was only then I realised how many there were. There two unmarked cars and two marked cars outside our house. All the stops had been pulled out. Maybe they were quiet. Maybe there has been a lot of reports of young people going missing recently. Maybe they had read our history. 

Last night, I felt that,  maybe,  they cared.

One thought on “The Police Return

Add yours

  1. I’m glad to read the police was more supportive and sensitive this time around. A compassionate police officer can make all the difference in such a terrifying situation. I hope things get better and quieter, and wish for your boy to always be safe. XX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Sparkle With UC

Leave a Little Sparkle Wherever You Go

Thricemarked's musings

...everything that won't fit in 140 characters

take2mumsworld

Our adoption journey with Bubble and Squeak

Hannah Meadows

resources and self-care for adoptive parents

transpositionsandtoddlertantrums

Mum. Chef Widow. Nurse and everything in-between!

The Puffin Diaries

The story of a family, the highs, the lows, the ins ,the outs, the loves, the hates and so much more...just don't mention the puffin.

Herding Chickens and Other Adventures in Foster and Adoptive Care

These are the adventures of one family in foster care and adoption.

buildingafamilytogether

Building a family through adoption.

wearefamily

an adoption support community

