Terrified to Lose Me

I know that the boys need me; they need to see how far they can push me away and to make sure that I will still be there. This became very apparent when I was ill and off work last year. It was nothing serious, but I did spend time moping around the house.  The boys’ world fell apart; they must have thought I was going to die. They never said it, but I’m sure, they feared it deep inside. There were incidents every day I was off work. one tried to run away, he was seen racing across a field. I was hardly able to drive, but I managed to track him on the mobile phone, locate him and pick him up. He didn’t really want to run away, he needed to know I would rescue him. A couple of days later school had seen an email and warned me one of them had arranged to meet someone and buy drugs from them. I had to get him off the school bus: One of them wrote a suicide note in class and made it so obvious that his teacher noticed and took it off him to see what it was. I went to school to collect him – to show that I was still there for him. I went back to work, and the urgent calls from school stopped. I sent them text messages, emails, left post-it notes in their school planners. To show I was thinking of them. To show them I was still around.

2 thoughts on “Terrified to Lose Me

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

notjustthe3ofus

A Lifestyle Blog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

No More Than Twenty

Two 'mo's, one LO, the dog and 9 chickens

SparkleWithUc

Leave a little sparkle wherever you go!

Thricemarked's musings

...everything that won't fit in 140 characters

take2mumsworld

Our adoption journey with Bubble and Squeak

Hannah Meadows

resources and self-care for adoptive parents

transpositionsandtoddlertantrums

Mum. Chef Widow. Nurse and everything in-between!

The Puffin Diaries

The story of a family, the highs, the lows, the ins ,the outs, the loves, the hates and so much more...just don't mention the puffin.

Herding Chickens and Other Adventures in Foster and Adoptive Care

These are the adventures of one family in foster care and adoption.

buildingafamilytogether

Building a family through adoption.

wearefamily

an adoption support community

